The Scary and Exciting End to the School Year

We find ourselves at the end of another school year.  My children are another year wiser, stronger, taller, and more independent.  I am proud! I am happy-sad.  I am scared and excited.  And it’s not even about me anymore.  They are the stars.

image

First day of school.

Last day of school.

Last day of school.

I am thrilled to have them home again for the summer.  I am glad that they will all three be together again throughout the day (as Josie is not in school yet).  There will be more fighting, more playing, more bonding, and more memory making.

image

The passing of time gives me so many mixed emotions (reference the first paragraph!).  Thinking over the years that have passed gives me a sick, panicky feeling that I have not done enough, taught them enough, given enough of my time.  Have I missed moments that I shouldn’t have missed? I know I have forgotten things that happened that I thought would never leave my memory.

I always start out the summer with big plans.  So many activities I want to do with the kids.  So many subjects I want to teach that are not taught in school.  And I always run out of time. But we are going to do our best.  And I am going to enjoy it!!!

About myworknprogress

Hi. My name is Jessica and I am a wife and a mother of three amazing kids. I work three days a week as a dental hygienist. I am constantly trying, as so many parents are, to do the absolute best thing by my family. Sometimes, it is hard to know what that is. This is a record of my work in progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Scary and Exciting End to the School Year

  1. Aunt Gay says:

    Your feelings are called MOTHERHOOD! You will just continue to do your best and all you can do. Out of your heart will come those precious memory makers. Keep up the good work! Love, Aunt Gay

  2. Rachel says:

    I understand! We all do!!!!

Leave a Reply

