Grady’s first ski trip – Angelfire, NM

image

We left on New Year’s Day to go to Angelfire, NM for a ski trip, and Greg and I were very excited to take Grady for his fist time! I have been wanting to take him since he was about 3 but was vetoed until this year.  Grady had a great time.  He went one day to ski school.  One of the most amazing things about the first day of skiing happened when Greg and I were riding a lift up the mountain and we hear, “Hey Mom! Hey Dad!” We look down and there is Grady with his ski school class waving like crazy to us.  He spotted us in the middle of hundreds of people bundled up in ski coats, masks, and hats.  He definitely takes after his daddy in observation skills.  I had to keep telling him to watch where he was going because he would ski and be looking anywhere but where he was headed (kind of like his dad drives!)

image

Grady did well in ski school but his instructor said he got a little scared when he felt that he couldn’t stop.  The next day we were able to park at a small public parking area on the slopes, put on our skis, and ski down to the lift.  I just skied Grady down between my skis.  We headed to the top of the mountain.  I went in front and Greg went behind.  We told him to just follow my tracks and sit down if he was worried.  The first couple of hills I just snow plowed straight down.  He was doing well so I told him to follow my tracks and we were going to make some “S’s”.  The little booger just followed right along.  We skied from the very top of the mountain to the bottom and he only sat down one time, no falls.  After that he was good to go.  We skied greens, blues, moguls, frontside, backside, and everywhere in between.  He had a blast.  The third day, I could tell if I was getting too far ahead of him because I couldn’t hear him SINGING!  He was singing, “She’ll be skiing down the mountain when she comes….” to the tune of ‘She’ll be comin’ round the mountain’.  The second verse was, “She’ll be skiing on yellow skis when she comes…”  He was cracking himself and everyone else on the mountain up.

image

We would ski to the pick-up that was parked on the slope to eat sandwiches for lunch.  Grady was with many other kids, cousins, and friends on the trip.  He had a blast.

image

This is the view from our front porch.  It was COLD.  The coldest temps I have ever skied in .  Negative 20-25 when we left the house and it would get up to about 9 degrees (actual temps).  No wind and full sun all day though.

image

Grady’s bear is making a snow angel on the bed 🙂

image

Grady was as happy as mom and dad to come home to his sister’s.  We stopped at the Big Texan on the way home where he got the hat.  Owen rode all the way there and back with us and Grady had a ball with him in the back seat.  Of course, I don’t know how many people are cooler than his cousin Owen, and Owen (age 12)  just takes all the time in the world with him.  We love him for that.  It was very different riding in a vehicle with 3 boys.  I didn’t have to take anyone to the bathroom or fix hair or anything.  I will say that I cannot believe how entertaining boys find a can of Flart! I got to listen to flatulent noises for about 2 hours of the trip.  Even Greg had to take a turn with it! Oh well, at least the noises were coming from a can and not a person.  Thank goodness for small blessings!

We can’t wait to share this experience with the girls in the years to come! Thanks to aunts, memas, and mamaws for making this possible with Grady.  We love you!

About myworknprogress

Hi. My name is Jessica and I am a wife and a mother of three amazing kids. I work three days a week as a dental hygienist. I am constantly trying, as so many parents are, to do the absolute best thing by my family. Sometimes, it is hard to know what that is. This is a record of my work in progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

