“I’m a big girl now!”

My favorite thing about Josie is her feet. They are so expressive. Look at those toes.

Well, try as I may, I could not convince Josie that she could climb over the rail of her crib.  The monkey tries to climb over everything else, but even when I showed her how to climb out of the crib, she shrugged and smiled at me and said, “No mama, my cand do it.”  So a few weeks later, I just got to the point where I told Greg, “It’s just time.  I am too nervous she is gonna decide to do it.”  So Greg turned her crib into a big girl toddler bed.  This is the first time we have been able to use the crib in this capacity.  We always had a little sibling coming along to claim the crib.
So we read 5 little monkeys as well as a couple of other books.  We put her to bed and… she stayed there.  The next morning when she woke up, she was yelling, “Maaaa-maaaaa, Gaaaa-gaaaaa” just like always.  Greg went to tell her she could get up.  She stood up and looked at him and pointed at her bed. “Fix it.”  She commanded.  Greg said, “Josie, you’re a big girl. That is a big girl bed.”  Josie shook her head and said, “No, my baby.” (She say my instead of me)  Greg said, “Oh, are you a baby?”  She said “yeth” and lay her head on his shoulder.
When he told me this story I said, “Well–put it back together!!”  And Greg, being the steady man that he is, said “No Jessica, it’s time.  She’ll be ok.”  And wouldn’t you believe it, she is.  I recall another time when I had only been a mom for about 6 months.  I had a perfect baby boy who liked to wake up about 5 times a night.  We moved him to his own room and he was not happy about it.  In the middle of the night, I had gotten up to try and calm him down.  Exhausted, after he had been crying for over an hour, I was laying on the couch crying right along with him when Greg took him from me, lay him in his bed – the same bed Josie sleeps in now – came back to the living room and took me by my hand and put me in our bed.  He didn’t say a word but I knew he meant that it was time then too.  Time for me to push myself a little to let go.  To know that Grady would be ok in his own room.  Sometimes I just need that little push or vote of confidence or whatever it is from him.  He is really good at knowing when to give it.  Grady did just fine in his own room and Josie had taken to her bed wonderfully.
Just like she wouldn’t climb out of the crib, mentally, I think the same barriers are up.  She does not leave the bed when she is put in it.  Grady and Clara had to be put back in bed numerous times a night.  Josie just gets a hug and a kiss and that is the end of it.  One more step in her (and my) growth.  Congratulations Josie!

Greg told her to pretend to sleep 🙂 She really does that with her hands though!

About myworknprogress

Hi. My name is Jessica and I am a wife and a mother of three amazing kids. I work three days a week as a dental hygienist. I am constantly trying, as so many parents are, to do the absolute best thing by my family. Sometimes, it is hard to know what that is. This is a record of my work in progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I’m a big girl now!”

  1. Cutie pie – it is great they grow up but just remember – that will be the last time she sleeps in a baby bed. Bittersweet that they can take their own bath because they don’t need you like that anymore. No need to be in a hurry – it happens fast enough naturally:)

  2. Aunt Dee says:

    Cute recap of a moment-in-time!! And I love how you write it as they speak it!! Makes it even more precious to read.

Leave a Reply

