My Work in Progress

In the beginning I thought that my “work in progress” was completely tied to my journey of raising three children that love the Lord, are content, always do their best, show kindness to others, etc.  But as I really think about what this title means, I realize that my “work in progress” is about me as an individual.  My faith, my self control, my selflessness, and my selfishness.  Because what do we really learn through parenting but that we know nothing?  Black and white lines do not exist in most circumstances.  I have learned more about myself  in the six years since the birth of my first child than I did the previous 24 years of my life. They are a gift that has altered my life from now on, but they are only in my complete care  for a relatively short time.  My work in progress chronicles my internal struggle with making the most of these years and instilling life long values into my children that they must choose to accept on their own accord.  Through prayer, advice from family and friends,  and gut instict we all do what we think is best.  To borrow a phrase from a friend, “Motherhood ain’t for sissies, my friends!”

Let the journey continue.

About myworknprogress

Hi. My name is Jessica and I am a wife and a mother of three amazing kids. I work three days a week as a dental hygienist. I am constantly trying, as so many parents are, to do the absolute best thing by my family. Sometimes, it is hard to know what that is. This is a record of my work in progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Work in Progress

  1. There is nothing more important than being a parent. It is up to you to help your children feel secure in who they are & be comfortable in their own skin. There are plenty of years & people to knock them down. Build them up & really listen when they talk. They know when you are faking it:) Your journey will be priceless but will come at a great cost.

  2. Aunt Gay says:

    Jessica, you said it all s-o well. Keep up the good work! I pray for your continued journey and strength when you get weary. Your Mother, my sister, (along w/Larry, your dad) also did a great job of raising such a fine daughter. Love, Aunt Gay

  3. Deb Davidson says:

    I love it Jess!! Can’t wait to read more! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

